How To Move From Blogspot To WordPress

WordPress and Blogger Blogspot are two of the most popular and best established blogging platforms today. There are so many great platforms available and it is amazing to see all the people taking up blogging, starting blogs of their own, sharing their knowledge and their skills with the world, building audiences and making friends, and even making money and building careers from their blogs.

blogger-to-wordpress

Sometimes the time is right for a move from a platform to another. It may be because you have outgrown the existing platform, it may be because you have a need for a change that your existing platform doesn’t allow you to do, or you may just need a fresh place to work with. Whatever reason it is bloggers are lucky that many of the platforms are flexible and allow the content archive to be backed up, exported and imported into another system. Same is the case with Blogger and WordPress.

Read on for more details on the WordPress platform and for the step-by-step guide on how to transfer your existing Blogger blog to WordPress.

WordPress – biggest blog platform

WordPress is the most popular blogging software. Over 50 million people have chosen WordPress to power their blogs and use it to create a wide range of beautiful and professional blogs. Majority of the biggest blogs run on the WordPress platform. There are two different versions of WordPress and that may cause some confusion with people entering the world of WordPress: WordPress.com and WordPress.org. See the full details on the differences between the two versions here. I recommend WordPress.org as that is the self-hosted version of the software, the one where you own and control everything about your blog.

WordPress.org is free and it is built by hundreds of community volunteers as an open source software. WordPress features thousands of free plugins and design themes to help you make you differentiate your blog and make it stand out from the crowd. Its flexibility is great, and so are the customisation opportunities, which allow you to create a unique blog with your distinct look and feel. All this is possible without needing to know much about design or without needing to hire professional design help.

In terms of bloggers wanting to make the move from Blogger to WordPress there is good news as WordPress is ready to welcome the Google Blogspot bloggers to their platform. A free tool has been developed to import posts and comments from your existing Blogger account into your new WordPress site. Just another sign of the great community of developers behind the open source platform. “Blogger Importer” WordPress plugin has been used by more than 100,000 of bloggers already to transfer their blogs. The process of moving a blog is not too difficult, keep reading for the full step-by-step process.

Moving your blog from Blogger to WordPress – Step-By-Step Guide

It is simple to move your Blogger Blogspot blog to WordPress. Here is the quick process in easy steps:

First you must install a WordPress.org blog to which you will move your Blogger content. For the simplest possible install, I recommend using Bluehost as you simply click on a button to install WordPress plus get domain and hosting for cheap. It literally takes 5 minutes to have WordPress up and running, no tech knowledge needed. Watch my video for step-by-step guide.

Now that you have your new WordPress blog ready and installed, it is the time to transfer your existing blog to it. Follow this process to import your Google Blogspot blog posts and comments into your new WordPress blog:

Step 1. In your WordPress Admin area go into Tools – Import in the left hand sidebar.
Step 2. Click “Blogger” and on the pop-up window click “Install Now”.
Step 3. Now click “Authorise” to tell Blogger to let WordPress access your account.
Step 4 .This will transfer you to a Google Account page. Click on “Grant Access”.
Step 5. You will see all the posts and comments on your Blogger blog. Click “Import”.
Step 6. Assign the imported posts to your author name on your WordPress blog.

That’s it. As said the process if pretty simple. Your Blogspot Blogger posts and comments are on your WordPress blog now and you are ready to grow your blog. Welcome to the world and the community of WordPress and happy blogging!

40 thoughts on “How To Move From Blogspot To WordPress

  1. Greetings! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that
    might be able to fix this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Thank you!

  2. Hi there! I understand this is sort of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog like yours require a massive
    amount work? I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do
    write in my journal every day. I’d like to start a blog
    so I will be able to share my own experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  3. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!

  4. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thanks

  5. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding
    blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  6. When someone writes an post he/she retains the image oof a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it.
    Thus that’s why this piece of writing is great.
    Thanks!

  7. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create
    your theme? Great work!

  8. Hi there! This blog post could not be written much better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous
    roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I will forward this post to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a great read. Many thanks for sharing!

  9. Greate post. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg
    it and in my opinion recommend to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  10. After I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when
    new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever
    a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there a means you can remove me from that service?
    Kudos!

  11. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yett effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that
    “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a excellent job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox.
    Superb Blog!

  12. My brother suggested I would possibly like this web site.

    He used to be entirely right. This post truly made my day.
    You can not consider just how so much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

  13. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

